Pizza Rustique

 Pizza-rustique/Kahliya-logue

 

Wow.I am relatively new to Blogland,but somehow yesterday when I read about one food event and decided to join at the last minute,that kind of got my creative juices flowing and here I am trying to join in another inspiring event(also at the last minute!).

This one is initiated by Vaishali from ‘Holy cow!’ , and the event is  ‘It`s a vegan world’  with this month`s theme- ‘Italian’!

iawv

I am not or atleast did not intend to be specifically a food blogger when I began,but food definitely is an important component of my world,and one of the beauties of food is that it connects between so many different people from all over the Globe in such a wonderful way,allowing us each to ‘taste’  from ‘eachother`s world’ in more ways than one..!

In preparing food my approach is Vegan in a philosphical way aswell as healthminded,which means I try to stay close to nature and its basic fresh produce and I do not tend to use processed items not even vegan ones-like commercial  imitation cheese etc.I love Nature and I have this joyful dialogue with it..On the other hand I have Immense respect and appreciation for traditional ways and dishes,creating I guess ,a bond with our ancestors that I can feel in the aura of each meticulously prepared dish,that I wish to preserve and connect to.So I try to come up with creative ways to maintain a fruitful communication between the two,by offering my variations to these dishes aswell as creating new ones.

For this challenge I have chosen to prepare a ‘Pizza Rustique’ which consists of a Wholewheat flour dough without yeast as I do not like to use raising agents that much, into which I add Ajwan seeds . These  are seeds normally used in the Indian Cuisine, that have a similar flavor to Thyme or Oregano and add a delightful touch to the crust which was baked topped with basically fresh tomato slices ,black olives,drizzled Olive oil with fresh Aragula leaves  upon serving.

I hope the Italian among you will not kill me,but you know what? It really came out divine! The crust was a real crust(dont ask me how it got that way without the yeast,asides the ingredients :) ) ; the Tomatoes tasted like Tomato Confit,and the added fresh leaves just gave an added vitality and crunch.

Now to work? :

Ingredients:

Dough -

2 cups wholewheat flour

1/4 cup Olive oil

1/3 cup tepid water

salt/pepper

2 tbsp Ajwan seeds(optional)

 

Topping -

2 ,3 ripe tomatoes

3,4 pitted Black Olives

3,4 roughly chopped Champignon Mushrooms(optional)

Salt/Pepper

Dried Oregano

Olive Oil

Fresh Aragula leaves(also known as Roket)

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Preparing the dough:

In a medium sized bowl,place flour ,add 1 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp Pepper

and 1-2 tbsp Ajwan seeds and mix.

Then add Oil and mix in the flour.At this point I like to crumble a bit with my fingers making sure the oil distributes well into the flour.

add 1/3 cup water to mixture,first by mixing with a spoon then when dough begins to form,begin using your hands to form a nice flexible slightly moist ball of dough,adding if needed a bit of flour/or water.Do not overwork the dough,just maintain a nice soft ball.

place ball covered in fridge for about an hour.(in this case I actually only waited 10 minutes..)

Meantime heat oven to approx 250 dgrees.

Take out dough and flatten with rolling pin to a medium large circle to fit a circle pie dish.

Note that you can ofcourse shape your pizza into a rectangular/square form as you wish.

I line the dish with parchement baking paper,I find its the cleanest simplest way.

Place your basic dough form into the dish,and top with nicely sliced tomatoes forming a circular pattern.

Cut your pitted olives in pieces and add,aswell as your chopped mushrooms.

Drizzle with some Olive oil ,and sprinkle some dried oregano,salt and pepper.

Bake in the Oven for approx 25-35 minutes.(may slightly differ as I used a toaster oven)

Be extra careful not to overbake,just be on the look out that the crust becomes tan and a bit crisp ,but not brown,and the tomatoes bake and shrink very slightly-NOT dehydrate completely.

Remove from the oven and serve warm while adding the fresh Aragula leaves just before serving as they tend to become mushy with the heat,aswell as an additional drizzle of Olive oil if you wish.

Buon appetito!

*Note: I just learned about DMBLGT-”Does my blog look good in this” a  monthly food photography event,hosted this month by Nika from Nikas culinaria,and I decided to send in this post`s photo to the event..see ya there! :)

12 Responses to “Pizza Rustique”

  1. Mia, What a beautiful pizza, and I just love the addition of ajwain. I am a huge fan of their unique flavor. I imagine they’d be just dashing in this pizza.

  2. kahliyalogue Says:

    Wow,thanx! I am an Ajwain addict myself! I just love to add them to almost all my savory pastry! I will probably write a post about this special spice shortly.. Thank you so much for your visit aswell as your compliment!

  3. Now you got me so curious about the flavor of Ajwan seeds! I have to see whether I can find them in some Middle East grocery in the Bay Area. No Italian will kill you, Mia, don’t worry. I am intrigued by your choice of not using yeast. The result looks beautiful.

  4. kahliyalogue Says:

    Ok,sigh.. :) Now that I got my official ok from an Italian,I can sleep peacefully knowing I wont be banned forever from Italy! :))
    Thanx Simona!
    And for these seeds,you will find them where you find indian produce,they are normally used in a totally different way in the Indian Cuisine.

  5. Hi Mia, wanted to answer your question on the tandoori paste– feel free to go ahead and make it minus the soy yogurt. I have seen versions of tandoori marinade that don’t use any, and I would guess you’d still get all the flavor. You might want to add 1 tsp of vegetable oil to the marinade to give it moisture.
    Hope that helps :)

  6. kahliyalogue Says:

    Thank you vaishali! yum!

  7. This looks great. I like the fact that you used whole wheat flour. You’re quite a cook! Take care

  8. kahliyalogue Says:

    Thanx Nihal! Sagol canim,utandim simdi,gercekten! So are you!

  9. [...] Kahliya-logue « Pizza rustique [...]

  10. [...] dough is actually the same wholewheat dough I have prepared for the Pizza that I made,with the Ajwan seeds in it,and once formed-decorated with Nigel seeds.The filling is [...]

  11. [...] Italian food with an Indian twist! – Pizza Rustique from [...]

  12. […] flavors her spectacular Pizza Rustique with an unusual ingredient: […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 118 other followers

