Ful Medames

ful-049

Ok..so this is where I begin revealing part of the complex and colorful

mosaic created by my roots..

This part is called ‘Egypt’ and I have enthusiastically  embraced many aspects of this culture.I remember growing up,every friday evening,watching the Egyptian movies with my father,having so much fun mimicking the melodramatic phrases in Arabic of the actors and waiting impatiently for the belly dancer to commence her moves so I can join in with her..!

Naima Akef Belly Dancing in the Egyptian Movie

A large part of this cultural effect in my life has been the food! And there is no talking about Egyptian food without beginning respectfully with what might probably be the most important and ancient dish- ”Ful Medames” , a dish said to be dated from the pharaos,originally considered a food for the ”poor”,eaten today by all ,mainly as a hearty breakfast preparing for a full day of work,as it is so filling and energy boosting.

ful-1391

The dish is made of fava beans,the small knobbly type,though some people use the larger broad kidney shaped type.When fresh these beans are originally green,as they dry they gradually turn from a green color to brown.I am stating this because some people (like me) find that waiting for them to turn brown is worth while as they gain an added flavor.

brown-dried-ful

Enough chitter chatter…

Down to business-

Soak the beans in lots of water early the prior evening(about 12 hrs).

Next morning,rinse and put the beans in a pot with plenty of water,add a large nice and ripe tomato cut in quarters; a large onion also cut in quarters and some ground cumin and bring to a boil,cover the pot and simmer on a very low heat for about 2-3 hrs.Check that the beans should be quite soft but don`t overcook them, as they harden again.

Now,this is the fun part!

Some like their ful then cooked in a nice Tomato sauce,with rice on the side.While I agree it`s a nice version,there is still  nothing like the Classic-

Place cooked beans in a shallow soup plate,sprinkle salt,pepper, ground Cumin,top with Olive oil and chopped fresh Parsley/Coriander,squeezed Lemon juice and…last but definitely not least-Tahin sauce-which is a bulk sesame paste,(available especially wherever you buy Middle Eastern products),diluted in water and fresh Lemon juice(stirring well until smooth paste obtained),adding salt and a  bit of ground Cumin,to which some like adding chopped fresh Parsley and crushed Garlic.

Et Voila…Now,the original version takes on a hardboiled egg ,but we will gladly omit that part,since we are Vegans, right?

vegan-006

The Traditional way to eat this is by crushing the beans with the fork while mixing in all the other ingredients,scooping it up to your delight with hand-torn pieces of fresh pita bread and a nice Oriental salad made of chopped Lettuce,tomato and cucumber (seasoned with Olive oil,Lemon juice,salt and pepper)on the side,without forgetting the Olives of-course!

oriental-salad4

zeitim

mmmmmmmm..Enjoy!

20 Responses to “Ful Medames”

  1. jacques le haut Says:

    I was saliving all over reading the above! yammy what a treat!
    Thanks for sharing with me.
    lots of love

    Jacques le haut

  2. kahliyalogue Says:

    You`re Welcome!-Itfadal..
    Belhani ulshefa! -Bon Appetit…! 🙂

  3. you took me straight back to my origins. now I want the molokheya

  4. kahliyalogue Says:

    No worries…coming up soon..stay tuned!

  5. Hello, Mia! Je suis contente d’avoir de tes nouvelles. Tout ça est très appétissant. Dommage que ce soit en anglais! Je t’embrasse. Marcelle;

  6. kahliyalogue Says:

    Salut Marcelle!
    Quand est ce que tu as mangè du ”ful” la derniere fois..?
    Est ce que celui ci te rappel celui que tu connais..?

  7. Chère Mia, je suis contente d’avoir de tes nouvelles. Comment va ta vie? Parle-nous un peu de toi. Ton site est très sympathique et appétissant. Sache que j’ai un traiteur libanais près de chez moi et que je mange régulièrement des fouls (en boÎte malheureusement) et j’aime bien la cuisine orientale; j’achète du “cachcaval” (fromage turc) et de bonnes olives.
    J’espère te revoir à Paris. Je t’embrasse. Elisabeth.

  8. kahliyalogue Says:

    Bonjour Elisabeth!
    Et bien voila..maintenant tu pourras preparer le vrai..je sais que le Ful sec se trouve par example chez l`epicerie Turc au Place d`Aligre..Bon Appetit!

  9. Glad you stopped by my blog 🙂 The dish looks delicious and is something I could really go for!

  10. […] from my father.He`s not Italian either.He was born and grew up in Egypt,as I have mentioned earlier on in my blog.Alexandria in those days still carried a lot of Italian influence,along with many […]

  11. […] for the prior post.Yes,it was Foul medammes.I have written about it here.One thing I was not aware of was that many times the ful is more of a ‘’soupy” […]

  12. Marysa Alminana Says:

    Hello, just wanted to let you know of a book that You & your readers might find useful & interesting: “The Book of Jewish Food” by Claudia Roden, who is an egyptian lady versed in many subjects. The book is much more than a cook book, it is for a lot of people a History book on customs from the times of our fathers and inspite of the title it is also much more than a jewish food book! Check it out & I’m sure you’ll be as amazed as I was. I’m certain that it was originally written in french. Merci beaucoup pour votre recetes et commentaires. Marysa

  13. kahliyalogue Says:

    Hello Marysa,
    Thank you for the tip.I love Claudia Roden`s work,I have carried her book on middle eastern food with me along all my travelling!Though I havent had the chance to read that one .
    Thank you for stopping by..Merci de votre visite et a tres bientot j`espere!
    😀

    • kahliyalogue Says:

      Bytheway Marysa,
      After having spoken to my father,it seems he has the exact same memories with the ”eshta” (otherwise known as Kaymak) from growing up in Alexandria.. 😀

  14. […] written a bit about my father`s background here and […]

  15. Yittah Lawrence Says:

    Now my mouth is really watering 🙂 thank you for posting this, will send the link to a cousin in the states 🙂

  16. Dr Viviane Leventhal Says:

    Thanks for the recipe for the “Do -A” . They sell something called “Dukka” here in the Sydney Middle East Shops , it is a Lebanese version which uses Thyme ; it tastes bitter & not like our Egyptian Do-A which has the sesame & cumin taste predominantly . One of my Egyptian patients makes it for me but I am happy to have a try myself !
    Cheers , Your Cousin Viviane in Sydney

Leave a Reply

