Simple Sweet potato & Pumpkin soup

pumpkin-sweet-potato-soup-006

As I have mentioned recently,I don`t get much chance to create as much as I would like to in the kitchen these days,but this is one of those quick simple dishes to warm you up in this cold weather especially if you don`t have too much time to bother..

 

Ingredients:

1 very large Leek -diced/or 2 smaller ones

1 very large Sweet potato/2 smaller ones – cut into large cubes

250 gr (approx.) slice of Pumkin-cut into large cubes

Baharat  🙂 /or Allspice

additional cinnamon

salt/pepper

Thyme

Sage

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

In a medium size pot – Saute the diced Leek in some Olive oil;

as they soften,add Sweet potato and Pumpkin cubes

continue to stir-fry a bit  then fill the pot with water almost to the top

bring to a boil and simmer ,

add 1 tsp salt; 1/2 tsp pepper;  1.5 tsp baharat; 1/2 tsp Cinnamon ; 1 tsp thyme and 1 tsp crushed dried sage leaves

continue to cook covered on low heat ,eventually adjusting the flavors to your taste,till the cubes soften,

simmer a bit more and thats it!

Enjoy!

*Update: I have decided to submit this post to an event named ”food in colors” initiated by Harini of “Tongue ticklers”,and hosted this month by Aparna from “My diverse kitchen”,with ORANGE being this months theme color!

Let`s go ORANGE!

10 Responses to “Simple Sweet potato & Pumpkin soup”

  1. I have yet to try sweet potato in soups! This soup sounds really good with this really interesting Baharat spice!

  2. kahliyalogue Says:

    Hey there loveliebutterfly! Yes,normally the soups made with sweet potato are blended into a creamy texture,which I like aswell,but this is a more ‘natural’ version,not to mention quick & simple..
    Im sure most of the components of the baharat are very familiar to you!Id be really interested to learn what combination you`d come up with & what you`d choose to do with it..!

  3. I love sweet potatoes, I usually eat them all buttered and sugared up… or curried, this really looks delicious!

  4. kahliyalogue Says:

    Thanx Meeso,hope you like it..!

  5. I had pumpkin soup once and it was made by my Thai roommate in college. As you can guess it was Thai pumpkin soup. But this sounds so easy and comforting! I like your combination of baharat.

  6. kahliyalogue Says:

    That sounds interesting..and exotic! hmmmm what do they put in it?
    Thank you Nihal!

  7. Certainly there was pumpkin, coconut milk and palm sugar and I don’t know what else! It was a long time ago, but I do remember it being good!

  8. Your soup would have a balance of sweet, salty and peppery flavoured with spice. Perfect warmth for the cold.
    Thanks for participating in FIC Orange.

  9. […] potato is very comforting! I have already written about a simple Sweet potato(&Pumpkin) soup before,but this time I wanted a more classic pampering creamy version.Except,I dont use cream,nor do I use […]

Leave a Reply

