Dried- fruit strudel

Dried-fruit Strudel /Kahliyalogue

One of the categories in which I feel  especially challenged following up on my approach to food,is in the sweets..we are so accustomed to certain flavours,as to the extreme sweetness of white sugar,normally added in abundance,that I find it a struggle to achieve similar results.But on the light side,I actually enjoy RE-discovering the true flavors of authentic products this earth brings to us,removed from beneath  their camouflage and brought out into the light,aswell as RE-polishing their shining armor of highly potent vitality and virtues they were originally provided with to bring us  a high quality of life!

 

“And God said,behold,I have given you every herb bearing seed,which is upon the face of the earth,and every tree,

in the which is the fruit of a tree yielding seed;to you it shall be for food.”

Genesis 1:29

 

While I admit it takes quite a lot of adaptation to go through,as I myself have allways been a “sweet tooth junky”,but it is a learning process just like any other,provided we are interested to learn,and believe me the results are well worth the process! If you are even just a bit intrigued,just tag along as I promise to report back with only the most successful experiments! 🙂

Dried-fruit Strudel/kahliya-logue

For this Strudel I have prepared a dough with wholewheat flour seasoned with spices,no sugar,no eggs and no raising agents.I filled it with a mixture of  coarsely chopped dried fruits and nuts;in this case dates,figs,raisins and walnuts were used with some added spices,and some pure unsweetened date molasses.I encourage you to go at it with any mixture you would like,or have on hand,changing it each time for added variation,it`s the basic idea that counts,once you`ve got it,the sky is the limit!

Dried fruit  are wonderful energy boosters,high in vitamins and minerals especially iron,that transform into genuine fuel for the body,providing a more balanced and sustainable vitality as opposed to the instant ”high” followed by an immediate drop brought on by the white sugar,leaving us just craving for more..not to mention the extra unwanted kilograms it delivers,as a result of the body unable to absorb and process it for it`s functioning!

Ingredients:

For the dough:

2 cups whole wheat flour

1/3  cup oil ( I used Olive oil and it was fine,though Sesame oil for instance will

probably gain even tastier  results.choose any you would like providing it is a cold pressed natural oil!)

1/4 cup tepid water

Cinnamon– a mildly sweet,warm spice ,known to aid in digestion.

Anise seed – a refreshing,slightly sweet spice in which it`s components aid in digestion.

Sesame seed(I used whole sesame seeds which are of a more brownish color,and are more nutritious)

and Nigella seeds, both for decoration( aswell as for their nutrional value.)

 

For the filling:

3-4 Dates(pitted)

3 Dried Figs

1.5 tbs Raisins

4 tbs Walnuts

Pure unsweetened Date Molasses

Anise seed

Cinnamon

pinch of Salt

*  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *  *

In a medium size bowl,place whole wheat flour mix in 1.5 tbs Cinnamon,and 1 tbs sesame seeds.add oil and mix into flour.Then add water,mixing well following by slightly kneading  the dough that has formed, adding water or flour if needed.Place in fridge for an hour.

Coarsely chop the dried fruit and the nuts and place in a bowl,adding 1 tbs cinnamon; 1 tbs Anise seeds,and 1 tbs sesame seeds and a pinch of salt.Mix well while dry ,then add approx 3 tbs date molasses,start with 2 and see if the mixture kind of sticks together without being too liquidy.If needed add some more.

Take the dough out and flatten on a surface sprinkled with Sesame and Nigella seeds into a rectangular shape.Place the mixture in a straight line along the middle of your rectangle.Bring both sides to a close towards the middle,and pinch all along the center ,and on each end ,hermetically sealing the pastry so the filling wont leak.

Preheat oven to 250 degrees( may slightly differ as I use an oven toaster),and bake for about 25- 30 minutes.Stay carefully tuned,allowing the dough to tan and crisp but not burn.

Enjoy!

nf_chef_100px_2

*Note: I am sending this post as an entry to the brilliant “Novel food event # 7” launched by Lisa from Champaign Taste,and Simona from Briciole! A combined culinary/literary event presenting dishes inspired by literary work!This is so exciting!

12 Responses to “Dried- fruit strudel”

  1. Look at you! You’re on a roll! All these recipes look wonderful. This strudel looks amazing.

    Sevgiler,

    Nihal

  2. kahliyalogue Says:

    Sagol canim! Thank you so much! You`re right..I`ve been kind of stuck with my own work lately and somehow suddenly my creativity emerged back in the kitchen..!
    Optum
    Mia

  3. Very interesting, Mia. I use little sugar in my cooking, or a lot less than expected, wherever I can. I love the natural sweetness of fruit, which gets concentrated in dried fruit. I love the use of seeds you make. And I really want to find the seeds you mention that are new to me. Thanks for participating.

    P.S. You may like this traditional recipe from my region: http://briciole.typepad.com/blog/2008/11/rocciata.html

  4. kahliyalogue Says:

    Thank you simona!
    What a lovely recipe!Thank you for sharing!I actually intended to present a similar apple strudel here in the near future,but youre version is very interesting indeed,with the use of anise seed with the apples,I never thought of that.But then,that to me is the beauty in all these various “perfumes” and flavours!There should be no “law” just creative experimentation!

  5. This has to be the healthiest strudel recipe I have ever come across, love it. Looking forward to trying this 🙂

  6. kahliyalogue Says:

    Thank you so much Usha! and thank you for stopping by..Im delighted,let me know how you liked it if you do ! 🙂

  7. I’m a little late in discovering this exciting strudel! Wow! I’ve been missing so much on such good posts! Yum! I like the combination of ingredients that you use!

  8. kahliyalogue Says:

    Thank you Butterfly!

  9. Mia, thank you for taking part in our event. Your strudel looks delicious — all that sweetness au naturel. 🙂

  10. kahliyalogue Says:

    Hi Lisa! My pleasure..I just love the idea of literature inspiring the creative ideas regarding food preparation,what possibly could be more romantic? 🙂

  11. That’s a neat tie-in! My hubby’s church magazine recently did an article about a pastor’s garden that has all Biblical herbs:
    http://www.wels.net/cgi-bin/site.pl?1712&cxDatabase_databaseID=1&id=10841&magazine=Forward%20in%20Christ

  12. kahliyalogue Says:

    That`s very interesting Ruhama! Im intrigued now! Im abroad at the moment,but will definitely check it out as soon as I get back..thanx for your visit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

