Red Rice Burger

Red Rice Burger/Kahliya-logue

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I`ve allways wanted to prepare a meatless burger,but to tell you the truth..I never did.I think I`ve tried once and devastated by the outcome I kind of let it rest..I think I just couldnt get the idea of how it is supposed to work..These days,trying not to loose that boost of creative edge that has been visiting me,I decided to give it another courageous go.I didnt quite know what I`d make them out of,and I didnt feel like browsing any recipes,so I went for red Rice as a base,and I figured I would improvise ,adding as I go along,what I thought might fit.And you know what?They turned out very nice.I wouldnt go so far as to say they`re like hamburgers,though you must admit,visually they do resemble,but they were tasty and definitely wholesome.

I love Red rice.Another food product I have discovered while living in France,first as ”Red rice of camargue” in the supermarket,then I found the Bhutanese Red rice in the Indian grocery shops.I cannot say for sure if it is the same rice,though to me it seemed very similar.In any case the kind I continue to find and use today is the the Bhutanese.

This Rice is very potent as it is high in protein,and I just love it`s flavor especially as opposed to it`s rice ‘cousins’.It has this special warmer nutty flavor, and  is very grounding and fulfilling.I actually eat it when say,another person would go for a ‘steak’..if you know what I mean.

Now Just before we go to ‘work’, I`d like to encourage you,after taking a look at this version and/or trying it,if you like,to go at it with any creative combo you feel like.Don`t be as hesitant as I was,I dont really think it`s a specific texture we`re after here,but flavor and of course for it to stick more or less together,which for that we use the  glutinous virtues of the Flax seed.

Ingredients:

1 cup cooked Red Rice( 1 cup rice to 2.5 cups water),set aside to cool.

2 cooked Potatoes,peeled and mashed with a fork.

4,5 Walnuts-coarsely chopped

1 small Onion chopped

3 Mushrooms chopped

2,3 tbs chopped Parsley

Olive oil

2 tbs Flax seed soaked in hot water just enough to cover seeds)

whole Sesame seeds

Salt, Pepper

Baharat/Allspice

For the sauce:

Tahin sauce- Bulk Tahin,1/2 Lemon,Cumin,Salt.(1 finely chopped Garlic clove-optional).

*  *  *   *

In a medium sized bowl place cooked rice,mashed potato,Flax seed mixture(which has now become a glutinous mixture),chopped nuts.

In a saucepan saute lightly chopped onion,to which add chopped mushrooms for a quick stir.Then add this to the Rice mixture.

Add chopped Parsely,1.5 tbs Baharat,1 tbs Sesame seeds,Salt and Pepper.Drizzle a bit(approx.2 tbs) of Olive oil and mix all together.Adjust flavor to your taste.

Preheat oven.Layer a baking dish with parchement baking paper.Form balls with mixture(a bit bigger than a ping pong ball),slightly flatten,place on baking dish and sprinkle some more Sesame seeds on the top of each burger.

Bake in oven at 250(may differ-I used a toaster oven)for approx.15-20 min.

Meantime prepare sauce,using 1/3 cup bulk Tahin diluted in 1/4 cupwater ,add squeezed lemon juice(begin with 1/2 the amount and add if needed.), 1 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp Cumin.Add finely chopped Garlic if you wish(I didnt in this case).Mix well to obtain a smooth consistency,slightly more liquidy than in the preparation of the traditional Tahin,as it`s purpose in this case is to pour over the burgers as an additional sauce.Adjust flavors to your taste.

Serve in a side bowl next to burgers to be added if wished for.

Enjoy!

10 Responses to “Red Rice Burger”

  1. Mia, how delicious, delightful and healthy. Makes me hungry!

  2. kahliyalogue Says:

    Hi vaishali! Thanx.Shall I prepare you a bun? 🙂

  3. Oh what a great idea again! ..and it looks so delicious! ..can´t wait to eat it! :-)= your hungry sisTa

  4. kahliyalogue Says:

    Thanx sista!
    com`on over and have a bite..! 🙂

  5. Will you believe that just yesterday I bought some Bhutanese red rice? I had nothing special in mind: I just liked it. Now I have your suggestion!

    • kahliyalogue Says:

      Hehehe..telepathy..? Thats great! Though I must say that this rice is so wonderful,you could even cook it plain adding a bit of spice and a drizzle of olive oil and it would be fantastic.If you do make the burgers,let me know how they turned out,or if you have any questions. 🙂

  6. Mia, bu gercekten guzel gorunuyor. I have never had red rice and I don’t even think I’ve seen it. It’s a great vegetarian alternative to burgers. I wonder if you could use regular rice?

    Sevgiler

  7. kahliyalogue Says:

    Sagol canim! I didnt know about it originally either,but believe me it`s great! and I reccomend you try it even on its own.. Of course you could use regular rice if you`d like,you could use anything that creates a flavor you like and make it stick..! The reason I felt like using this rice was first I guess it visually inspired me as resembling a ”burger”,then the fact that it has that added deep nutty flavor as opposed to the white rice,and the fact that it is a bit ‘heavier’ and more wholesome creating something that was a bit more ‘grounding’..But dont be that fooled 🙂 it doesnt taste like meat in the way some meat substitutes do.. Let me know if you try to make them and need any tips.. or even better- let me know if youve made any other creative variation of yours -Im curious! 🙂 optum!

  8. Red rice burger sounds delightful !

  9. kahliyalogue Says:

    Thank you Usha! 🙂

Leave a Reply

