Red rice Pilaf

Red Rice Pilaf-Kahliya-logue

After having posted just recently the recipe for the Red rice burger ,I realised That Red rice  is still not that widely known.So I decided to share more basic methods of preparation of this highly nutritious grain,which incidently does seem to be the same Red rice grown in France,to inspire you to begin adding it into your own cooking!

Actually,the basic idea is similar to cooking any rice of your choice,but in this case you need more water .Then, in a skillet,stir fry ingredients of your choice ,flavoring with spices,and adding the rice to create a flavorful mix!

Ingredients:

1 cup Red rice

Olive oil

Salt/Pepper

Baharat/Allspice(or anyother favorite spice blend)

Dried Thyme

1-2Spring onions

4,5 Mushrooms

1 Red bell pepper

2 tomatoes

*   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *

Cook the rice in 2.5 cups water

The way I do it is rince the rice and bring to a boil after which I remove the scum formed on top,lower the flame to a low heat,and then add about 1 tbs Olive oil,some salt,pepper and Baharat and leave to cook till all water absorbed and soft.

Meantime in a separate pan add some Olive oil and briefly stir-fry chopped spring onion with chopped mushrooms,then add the chopped Red bell pepper and Tomatoes.Add spices and mix all together,finally adding your cooked rice,blending it in and adjusting the spices to your taste aswell as adding a bit of Olive oil at the end if you feel needed.

I like to have the veggies still firm and crunchy so the whole stir-fry process is quite quick.If you like you can even add some additional freshly chopped Spring onion to top the dish just before serving.

On another occasion I added Spinach leaves and dried Sage instead of the Thyme,

Red rice pilaf II-kahliya-logue

and on another I added More tomatoes instead of the Bell pepper,cooking it a bit longer,

559

creating more liquids,resulting similar to a stew,for those who prefer it that way..

Red rice Pilaf III- Kahliya-logue

 

Now there`s no more excuses..embrace this fabulous grain and show us all your creative combinations! 🙂

10 Responses to “Red rice Pilaf”

  1. I will, I will. I bought a small package and will certainly make something with it. Your enthusiasm makes me more and more curious to taste it.

  2. kahliyalogue Says:

    Go for it..! 🙂 If you feel like you can return here and share with us what youve made!

  3. Love the look of that pilaf, and all those vegetables and spices in there must be absolutely delightful.

  4. I like the way you’ve used the vegetables. It makes a meal all by itself with grain and veggies. I have to look around for the red rice; hope I can find it.

  5. kahliyalogue Says:

    Yes,Its more or less my favorite basic meal,grain + veggies,adding in one way or another some protein..Im sure you can get it anywhere they sell Indian products.

  6. Loved the pilaf. I have yet to use red rice and this recipe seems like a great place to start 🙂

  7. kahliyalogue Says:

    Thanx Usha.really? Im delighted to have helped with the introduction of this rice,you`ll see-Im sure you will love it and I will be happy to see what you will continue to do with it..! 🙂

  8. Mia, a while ago I did find red rice and I tried it! I didn’t have the exact veggies you have on hand, so I used green onions, spinach and fresh peas! I really liked the red rice. It’s a keeper! I’ll buy it more often. Thanks for introducing me to red rice.

    Btw, how do I add you the the list of blogs that I follow?

    Take care,

    Nihal

  9. kahliyalogue Says:

    Oh wow,Nihal,Thanx! You made my day!
    Im so glad.Nice combo youve made there youself!
    you know,for me it`s usually the principle of an important ingredient or basic preparation I try to introduce,and then just suggestions of combinations which are totally open to variations.Infact I love to hear the variations others have made so I can learn also.Thats the beauty of this blogging community-sharing! 🙂
    As for the the blog followers,I dont think here at wordpress we have like at blogger.You could probably just add me on your profile page to the list of blogs you follow,if you want.
    I have a link to subscribe if you wish.
    Otherwise,I have been wanting to do a blogroll,but havent yet,as I am not so great at learning how to do all these things.. 🙂
    But thank you I am flattered!

Leave a Reply

