Cream of Sweet Potato

Cream of Sweet potato/Kahliya-logue

 Yes t`is Spring…and oh so lovely to see the sun shining at last! Though part of it being Spring is that it is not alltogether warm yet..and it even gets pretty cool still..so dont go tucking in those sweaters as of yet..! And if I may add,it`s actually still kind of nice to have a warm comforting soup.You must agree that Sweet potato is very comforting! I have already written about a simple Sweet potato(&Pumpkin) soup before,but this time I wanted a more classic pampering creamy version.Except,I dont use cream,nor do I use Cow`s milk.I used Soy Milk,and you know what?It turned out pretty awesome! This version is tremendously easy aswell,so if you like Sweet potatoes,give it a try! Did you know that Sweet potatoes are not only nice and sweet but also highly nutritious?

Ingredients:   (Yeilds 2 servings)

5 baby Sweet potatoes

 5 Champignon Mushrooms

1 chopped onion

3/4 cup Soy mik

1 tbs crushed Dried Sage leaves

1 tbs crushed Dried Zaatar leaves(not mix) /Oregano

Salt & Pepper

1 tbs Cinnamon

*    *    *    *    *

Wash the Sweet potatoes and cut in large chunks.

Place in a pot barely covering with water,bring to a boil,reduce heat and cook till tender.

Blend them with their cooking water,

Return the blend to the stove,add Spices and Soy milk.

Separately Saute chopped Onion and then Chopped Mushrooms,

and add to the cream without blending (I like it this way,did I mention before I just love chunky? 🙂 but if you prefer you can ofcourse blend it all together.

Adjust,spices to your taste and add more milk if necessary.

11 Responses to “Cream of Sweet Potato”

  1. It looks so elegant. I’ve never had sweet potato soup. I should be exploring more foods with sweet potatoes. By the way, the eggplant dish I posted on my blog, you could substitute mushrooms for the meat. I know you’re a dedicated vegetarian! 🙂 Take care Mia.

  2. kahliyalogue Says:

    Thank you sekerim! Thats so thoughtful of you! Those eggplant ‘parcels’ of yours look so great,now I can try them too! 🙂

  3. Rien que de voir le plat et en plus il fait de nouveau froid en Alsace, cela me donne envie d’y mettre ma petite cuillère afin de me réchauffer un peu

  4. kahliyalogue Says:

    hehehe! Vas-y..! c`est exactement pour cela que je l`avais prepare! Et en plus c`est vraiment tres facile si tu as envie de le faire toi meme! 🙂
    Merci d`etre venu..

  5. I also like the idea of having the chopped vegetables in the creamy soup.

  6. Hi,
    wonderful recipe for sweet potatoes , you know what We like making sweet potato dumplings ( a sweet dish ) also ..never tried making soup with it ,may be I should try out someday soon …Thanks for stoping by at my small place ..will try to visit you frequently now that I found a lovely place as yours…
    hugs and smiles

    • kahliyalogue Says:

      Thank you so much Jaya!So looking forward to exchanging with you and revisiting your lovely world aswell!
      I am now especially intrigued in learning how to do those sweet potato dumplings u have just mentioned!Sounds yum! 🙂

  7. So delicious. I often have a baked sweet potato with a cheese plate for lunch. Mushrooms sound heavenly. : }

Leave a Reply

