Whole wheat pasta in Tomatoes and Olives

Whole wheat pasta in Tomatoes and olives/Kahliya-logue

Tony killed me with the fabulous scent of the Tomato dish he prepared..so I had to come up with something ‘Tomatoey’ presto!

A while ago I was very impressed by a dish prepared by the Israeli chef-Haim Cohen,and on the spot I just knew I had to try it..and yes..it was about Tomatoes..and it had such an authentic homey feel to it.The idea was large  ‘slices’ of handmade pasta,cooked in quartered Tomatoes and cracked Olives,originally topped with Sardines,but as you can guess I skipped that part,and I used whole wheat flour for the pasta.The base of the Tomatoes was so simple as was the pasta,even though handmade,don`t let that scare you!No spices,no super duper luxury here,just another way to enjoy the pure Tomato flavor.I guess you can say the ‘punch’ here would be the Olives,as they were Cracked Green olives,what is called here ‘Syrian Olives’,or ‘Cracked olives’,and as I look them up,I find them under the title Kura olives,which are Green Olives that are picked before totally ripe,cracked with a stone or a hammer to trigger fermentation,and cured in salt,a method that results in a mild bitter taste.I personally love these olives,though I admit, I adore almost all olives.The thing is, these are normally served added to Middle-Eastern salads,and I kind of liked the refreshing idea of it being combined in a “Middle -Eastern” pasta dish.Of course,you can always try this with any kind of Olive you may prefer.

Shall we..?

 

Ingredients:

for pasta dough:

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1.5 tsp Olive oil

1/3 cup water

for sauce:

4-5 tomatoes quartered

olive oil

salt(preferably coarse sea salt)

Pepper

Pitted green Olives(syrian)

*    *    *    *    *

prepare dough by mixing ingredients

Set aside for 30 min.

Meantime in a large frying pan,place quartered Tomatoes in little olive oil,sprinkling with sea salt and cover pan,allowing to keep moisture in while tomatoes become somewhat ‘poached’,add pitted olives and pepper,mixing and taking care tomatoes soften and transform to chunky (there I go again..)sauce.Make sure you don`t overcook the tomatoes as I might of done.I think the idea is more of a freshly poached tomato mixture other than a classic pureed sauce.Also,if you are using Coarse Sea-Salt,take care as you may not realise things get saltier quicker,if you know what I mean..!

 

Returning to your dough,roll it  out to a surface ,cutting un-uniformed large flat pieces.

gently throw them into a large pot of boiling water and remove them after they have surfaced.

add them to the pan with the tomatoes allowing them to blend with the sauce.

That`s it,hope you enjoy!

10 Responses to “Whole wheat pasta in Tomatoes and Olives”

  1. ya salam! this looks wonderful! Tomatoes are one of my favorite parts about summer – besides the beach and beautiful weather, of course. I can’t believe how simple the sauce is either. I’m going to give this a try soon 🙂

  2. kahliyalogue Says:

    Ahlen Tony! Thanx! It`s all your fault,you got me going for the Tomato thing..Itfadal, go for it,and tell me what you think..knowing you ,you`d probably come up with an interesting version.. 🙂

  3. I love the combination of green olives and tomatoes. This is a very nice pasta dish.

    • kahliyalogue Says:

      Grazie Simona!
      It`s like opening a dialogue between Italian and Middle eastern cuisine..isnt that neat?! 🙂

  4. Mia, this looks gorgeous! I love pasta with tomato and olives. I do miss the cracked olives. For some reason, they tastes much better than uncracked olives. Kudos to you for doing whole wheat pasta at home!

    • kahliyalogue Says:

      sagol canim,it`s actually really simple,a shorter version than the classic pasta routine.
      I know what you mean..the cracked olives have more ‘character’I would call it,their flesh being more dense and that slightly bitter addition..Ive seen its hard to find in the U.S..but maybe still possible..I wish I could send u some..!

  5. this pasta is so similar to the pasta we add to a lentil dish called daal dhokli in india. i love your simple pasta sauce with tomatoes and olives.

  6. kahliyalogue Says:

    Hi Bee! Thanx! wow,now u have me intrigued..do u happen to have a recipe of that dish? 🙂

  7. Mia, my mom gives me some cracked olives every year when I visit Turkey. She puts it in a plastic coke bottle and all I have to do is cut the bottle with a knife and enjoy the cracked olives. The cracked green olives are perfect for a salad. I found some at Middle Eastern market and tried them, but they did not taste the same. I wonder if they put something extra to preserve them that changes the taste. The homemade ones are so much better!

  8. kahliyalogue Says:

    They most probably do..wow thats so great that u get to bring some back..does she prepare them herself??I would love to learn how to make them..I agree they are amazing for salad,thats why I was so excited to see them in a totally new combo..and was equally awesome! 🙂

Leave a Reply

