A chapter..

Hey guys..just got back from yet another lovely trip!

I know I haven`t been around lately,this is a very intense time for me ,trying to gain closure on past chapters of my life;in the midst of building new ideas and dreams,and preparing myself for unclear changes that lay ahead..

I just came back from revisiting Turkey where I have lived for 3 yrs and where the seed of “kahliya” the shop was born..

Kahliya shop in Turkey

929

959

As you can see,it was a tiny shop though full of riches like Ali-baba`s cavern,and I loved it very much.With some creativity I had everything I needed,and it was so cozy,people really enjoyed coming by for some tea and chat..

Talk about sustainabilty and making do..

that tiny space became a Rich enchanting Universe

believe me you! 🙂

It was actually created within a building entrance,which was obviously very narrow,and after the first bit went all the way up with stairs.With some help,I filled in a few of those stairs midway with cement to create a platform onwhich I put my sewing machine and small table,and that was my “atelier” !

I have many many memories from this shop as I have from my life in Turkey itself..I`ve learned so much about another country and culture,aswell as about myself! I believe that years from now those experiences will continue to unfold, finding it difficult at the moment  to express all that I withold..

What I find fascinating is the remaining  traditional ways of taking the time for true hospitality,sipping tea..another tempo alltogether.. the abundance of genuine fresh potent fruits,vegetables and herbs, a solid base of their nutrition,the ongoing traditions of handcraft,the creative sustainable sollutions as an obvious part of daily life.

All these symbolise a closer connection , and appreciation of the Earth,a knowing of its ways that gets lost once life becomes too complex..

This visit was a nice reminder as I hope to carry on my path using what I have learned from this knowledge..

Along with this ‘baggage’ I am saddled with,I collected some of my fabrics I left behind,My shop`s handcrafted SIGN,which I hope to hang soon on ”Kahliya`s” next venture,

sign 002

and….an oldtime dream-I got myself a SAZ or Baglama,

An East mediterranean string instrument,as I felt a deep connection to the music played with it,and hope to find my way to learn..!

A Favorite of mine who plays it very well and sings is Musa Eroglu

*Update:

As I look back upon these images,followed by the memories of my path,

I cant help but think about how this could be my personal version of  the ‘travelling craftsman’!

 

Just a thought in the meantime

as for my inner concepts are only known to me.

Though I shall say this,

The Global community is always on my mind

and to Mother Earth I will always be kind..

7 Responses to “A chapter..”

  1. Mia, thanks for sharing the images. I really enjoyed them while listening to Musa Eroglu. It’s a very nice presentation. It made me feel homesick, but truly felt like I was there. Have fun with your saz…I am sure you will master playing saz. Thank you for sharing your trip to Turkey.

    • kahliyalogue Says:

      Hi Nihal,
      I am very pleased to take you back to your home land even for a brief moment..Im glad you enjoyed!

  2. Mia – this is Laurie Buchanan, one of your Gaia Community friends. I followed the link on Gaia and found this lovely site. How cool is this?! Thank you for sharing, my friend. I enjoyed my visit very much.

  3. kahliyalogue Says:

    Hi Laurie, Welcome!

    Im so happy you enjoyed pieces of my world..hope to see you again soon,thank you for your visit! 🙂

  4. Welcome back! Glad you had a nice trip. I love the sign! And the photos at the top are sweet.

  5. Coucou Mia…j’aime bien le bric-à-brac de tes photos…Un délice bien sympa de la vie…Merci de ton passage, cela m’a fait chaud au coeur et en parlant de chaud, il fait soleil chez nous…C’est férié aujourd’hui avec la fête de Marie…alors j’en profite un peu de vous écrire. Cet apm, je vais à un grand mariage et je prépare celui de mon fils à la fin du mois…c’est pour ça que je déserte un peu les blogs en ce moment…mais cela ira mieux début septembre…à tout bientôt et bon week-end !!!!

Leave a Reply

