Homemade Pickles

I am a huge fan of Pickles..dont ask me why..I just am..not one for spicy stuff but Pickles I adore,though only the ones made in Salt..and here in Cyprus I have searched everywhere and have only found Pickles in Vinegar and sugar..which is a whole different ballgame..
SO..I just remembered that I used to make them myself..and actually..they come out even more awesome!I found a used large jar,got myself some Cucumbers and some Salt ..and as easy as one two three…….weeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee have great Pickles!

Before I explain the very short and simple procedure,allow me to remind you that Pickles are actually a very important part of our health regime,aiding in digestion enormously,regulating intestinal flora and more..check out this site to learn more : http://www.mitoku.com/products/pickles/healthbenefits.html

Ok..so now here`s how to do it..

1 Jar sterilised in Boiling water,
Depending on the size jar you find :

Cucumbers to fill the jar.
They should be small and firm.

Sea salt

Garlic cloves

Pepper Corns

Herbs Optional (I like to use the classic for this which is Dill),Bay Leaf

Piment spice Optional

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Rinse the cucumbers

Fill your jar

Peel a few Garlic cloves and place scattered in jar

Spread some Pepper corns into the jar

Add herbs and chilli peppers(or any other) if you like.

Prepare a sollution of 1 spoon Salt to a cup of Boiling water

and pour into jar filling it to the top.

Pour a thick layer of Olive oil to cover the top

Close your jar hermetically

Place in the terrace/sun on a piece of old newspaper as during the process it may spill.

Leave in the sun for about 2-3 days.Mainly depends on the heat and conditions.

Check that the fermentation has begun but not overdone.

The cucumbers begin to change color.

Place and keep in Fridge.

Enjoy! ~

Leave a Reply

